UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Physics and Astronomy: Open Access Databases

Freely Available Web Sites

arXiv.org
arXiv is a preprint repository in physics, math, computer science and related disciplines enabling scientists worldwide to share and access research before it is formally published.
Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.9 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS Labs interface as well as the traditional "Classic" search forms.

National Nuclear Data Center
The National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) collects, evaluates, and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and for applied nuclear technologies. The NNDC is a worldwide resource for nuclear data.
NIST Physical Reference Data
Run by the National Institiute of Standards and Technology. Information available includes Physical Constants, Atomic Spectroscopy Data, Molecular Spectroscopy Data, and many others.
INSPIRE
The High Energy Physics Database, run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center. For help with searching, see the examples page.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
SciTech Connect
- This link opens in a new window
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface.