UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: EMBA: Library Resources and Services: Small Business / Entrepreneurship

Open-Access Websites

Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition
Geared towards small business owners analyzing potential markets. Data is presented for a single type of business and geography at a time, including:
   - a snapshot of the community of potential customers;
   - basic data on the volume of similar businesses in the area;
   - a high-level overview of the spending patterns of consumers in the area.

Example report: (click image)

______________________________________________
______________________________________________
U.S. Small Business Administration
Entrepreneurs (State of Wisconsin)
Entrepreneurs’ Toolkit (Wisconsin Technology Council)
SCORE.org
BusinessUSA.gov
Starting a Business
Bplans.com

Library Subscription Databases / E-books

► Business Plans Handbook
(Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Collection of actual business plans from the manufacturing, retail and service industries. Company names have been changed for confidentiality purposes.

_________________________________________
_________________________________________

► Key Business Ratios (Mergent Intellect)
* Click on link, scroll to "Key Business Ratios."

Includes benchmarking ratios & industry norms data for over 800 lines of business; compiled from Dun & Bradstreet®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios.

_________________________________________
_________________________________________

► Business Reference E-Books
(Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Collection of reference e-books on small business & more. See the list below for selected titles; click on above link to access the entire collection.

Encyclopedia of Small Business (2011) More than 600 detailed articles and overviews of key topics that are relevant to small business owners, such as: ■ Financing ■ Market analysis ■ Sales strategy ■ Tax planning ■ Human Resource issues ■ and more 
Encyclopedia of E-Commerce (2012) Over 400 essays on topics related to e-commerce, including profiles of industry leaders and innovators, significant events, case studies and legal issues

EMBA: Library Resources and Services: Small Business / Entrepreneurship

Open-Access Websites

Library Subscription Databases / E-books

Recent Library Books