UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: EMBA: Library Resources and Services: Advertising Info

Recent Additions:
Reference E-Books

Encyclopedia of Global Brands
-- Profiles over 250 of the most popular brands worldwide.

-- Each case study looks at the brand's origins, elements, identity, strategy, equity, awareness, and outlook.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies (2013)

-- Covers 100 of the top advertising campaigns/strategies which appeared from 2010 to 2013.

-- Each essay explores the campaign's situational analysis, target market, marketing strategy, marketing tactics, and outcome.

* UWM Libraries Subscription Databases

SRDS Media Solutions (SRDS)
* Note: The Claritas 360 module works in Google Chrome only.
UWM Libraries has access to the following modules: Digital Media, Consumer Magazine Media, Business Publication Media, Local Media by DMA, Newspaper Media, Radio Media, TV & Cable Media, Out-of-Home Media, Print Media Circulation, and Claritas 360.
more...less...
The modules contain advertising rates, circulation data, web metrics, and more for different types of advertising media, with the exception of Claritas 360 which provides demographic and consumer segmentation reports for geographic and demographic markets.
Business Reference E-Books (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Collection of online reference books on marketing, brands, industries, small business and more. See the list below for selected titles; click on above link to access the entire collection.
    --Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies
    --Encyclopedia of Global Brands
    --Corporate Disasters: What Went Wrong and Why
    --Market Share Reporter: Trends Over Time

Reference Books: Advertising Spending

Click on the book cover below for sample page of an agency listing.

The books are located in the Reference Collection (1st floor, west wing.)

Click for Call Numbers

Collection consists of five titles:
    -- Agencies
    -- Advertisers, Geographic
    -- Advertisers , Business Classifications
    -- Advertisers, Indexes
    -- Advertisers & Agencies Supplement

Coverage:
Agencies: comprehensive overview of advertising agencies and their branch offices in the US and around the world.
Advertisers: profiles of companies that buy advertising space, including line of business, approximate advertising budget, and agency used.

Open Access Internet Sites

Creativity
Free ad content available on a limited basis; otherwise subscription is required.
YouTube
Try searching for a brand keyword paired with "ad" or "commercial."
Ad*Access
Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
more...less...
Concentration in five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
From Duke University.
Agency Compile Directory of advertising and public relations agencies. Work samples provided for some agencies. Free registration required.
Marketing Charts
Collection of 2,500 charts related to marketing.
Advertising Age Datacenter
Some data is free; most of site is fee-based.

Radio Ratings

TV Ratings

Nielsen: Television Rankings
Limited access to data.

EMBA: Library Resources and Services: Advertising Info