Skip to main content

Women - Archives Dept.: Related Material

This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on local women's history. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.

In Special Collections

Special Collections also collects, preserves, and makes accessible published primary source materials that document women’s experiences, feminism and women’s history. Their sources center on the social, political, economic, sexual, and civil rights struggles of women nationally and internationally. Read their web page describing their women's studies collection, and searching strategies are offered on their web page.

And Explore the Wisconsin Historical Society

The Archives Dept. is the local Area Research Center (ARC) affiliated with the Wisconsin Historical Society. Through the ARC network, you can request the temporary transfer of collections located elsewhere around the state. To locate such a collection, we recommend that you search in finding aids. Finding aids are guides that explain the creator, contents and dates of a collection.

Search among Wisconsin finding aids via the Archival Resources in Wisconsin database by using the search boxes below. This searches a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide. Below, choose keywords, select an operator (and, or or not) as appropriate, and then click on "Search." If you wish to limit your search to only the materials found in one repository (e.g. Wisconsin Historical Society) change your "Limit to:" location box.

If you'd like to read more about the Archival Resources in Wisconsin database and find searching tips, visit the main web page at http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/WIArchives.

If you locate a collection that you would like to request be sent to the Archives Dept. at UWM Libraries, please contact us at 414 229-5402 or stop by (room 250, west wing) to speak with a staff member.

Subject Guide