Skip to main content

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People - Archives Dept.: Records, Personal Papers, & Newspapers

This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department and Special Collections to study local LGBT history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.

Records & Personal Papers

The Archives (2nd floor, west wing) has numerous collections of personal papers and organizational records documenting LGBT history in Milwaukee since the late 1960s. Topical strengths of our collections include the gay liberation movement, gays and lesbians in the military, HIV/AIDS, and marriage equality. Following is a select list of some frequently consulted collections.

Newspapers

Special Collections (4th floor) holds many newspapers and news magazines of the Milwaukee LGBT community. The following list includes the more prominent news publications.

Title: Amazon
Description: v. 1 [1972]-v. 11, no. 6 (Feb./Mar. 1984)
Call Number: (SPL) HQ1101 .A42x
Holdings Information: View catalog record

Title: GPU News
Description: [Vol. 1, no. 1] (Oct. 1971)-v. 10, no. 4 (Jan. 1981)
Call Number: (SPL) HQ 76.8.W6 G6x
Notes: Also available online
Holdings Information: View catalog record

Title: Hag Rag
Description: No. 1, year 1 (summer 9986 [i.e. 1986])-v. 7, no. 4 (Jan. 15/Mar. 14, 9993 [i.e. 1993])
Call Number: (SPL) HQ75 .H34x
Holdings Information: View catalog record

Title: Kaleidoscope
Description: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Oct. 6, 1967)-v. 5, no. 22 (Oct. 28/Nov.11, 1971)
Call Number: (SPL) (FOL+) PS1 .K3x
Holdings Information: View catalog record

Title: Queer Life
Description: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Dec. 15, 2004)-v. 4, issue 12 (Dec. 2008)
Call Number: (SPL) (FOL) HQ75 .Q44x
Holdings Information: View catalog record

Title: Wisconsin Gazette
Description: Began with Vol. 1, no. 1 (Nov. 19, 2009).
Call Number: (SPL) (FOL+) HQ75 .W55x
Holdings Information: View catalog record

Title: Wisconsin In Step
Description: Vol. 1, issue 1 (Feb. 9/22, 1984)-v. 20, no. [23] (Nov. 20, 2003)
Call Number: (SPL) (FOL+) HQ75 .I57x
Holdings Information: View catalog record

Title: Wisconsin Light
Description: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Nov. 20, 1987)-v. 13, no. 18/30 (Mar. 29, 2000)
Call Number: (SPL) (FOL) HQ75 .W57x
Holdings Information: View catalog record

Subject Guide

Archives Department
Contact:
UWM Libraries
Archives
Room W250
414-229-5402
Website / Blog Page