Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People - Archives Dept.: Related Material
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department and Special Collections to study local LGBT history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Special Collections includes published primary sources on the LGBT experience. Read about their Lesiban, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies Collection here.
Explore the Wisconsin Historical Society
The Archives Dept. is the local Area Research Center (ARC) affiliated with the Wisconsin Historical Society. Through the ARC network, you can request the temporary transfer of collections located elsewhere around the state. To locate such a collection, we recommend that you search in finding aids. Finding aids are guides that explain the creator, contents and dates of a collection.
Search among Wisconsin finding aids via the Archival Resources in Wisconsin database by using the search boxes below. This searches a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide. Below, choose keywords, select an operator (and, or or not) as appropriate, and then click on "Search." If you wish to limit your search to only the materials found in one repository (e.g. Wisconsin Historical Society) change your "Limit to:" location box.
If you locate a collection that you would like to request be sent to the Archives Dept. at UWM Libraries, please contact us at 414 229-5402 or stop by (room 250, west wing) to speak with a staff member.