A collection of historical documents or records created or recieved by a person, family, or organization. An archives can also refer to the repository in which the collections of records are held.
A place where things can be stored and maintained; a storehouse. Sometimes used in the phrase "manuscript repository" to indicate a special type of archives.
For the most success, we suggest that you decide on a general research topic before you visit us. Or, if you are working on a class assignment, make sure you understand your assignment.
In general, the more research you do in secondary (e.g. books, documentaries) and tertiary (e.g. encyclopedias) sources, and the more familiar you are with the period or topic you are studying, the more productive you will be in the Archives.
Each time you visit, give yourself enough time. Using archival material usually takes more than 30 minutes, and sometimes hours or days, so we recommend that you allot an hour or two for your first visit.
To familiarize yourself with the archives, watch our tutorial "Visit the UWM Archives."
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections that will contain primary sources. You can search by keyword/s in the box provided below. This search box brings up results from the UWM Archives Department, the UWM Special Collections, and the Wisconsin Historical Society. Note that these results will include catalog records for books that we hold here in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections, which include documents, reports, photographs, et al.
Here are three examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords.
1. World War I Milwaukee
2. Communism Wisconsin
3. Civil Rights African Americans Milwaukee
If your search doesn't produce relevant results, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.