The Archives Department at UWM Libraries has the primary sources you need to complete your class assignments.
See the other pages in this guide for specific information on the collections you will use for your short papers or to suggest sources on other topics such as Latino Migrant Labor.
And to find sources for your larger research paper, search either via Search@UW or in our finding aids. The boxes in the middle of this page will guide you through each type of search.
Then, visit the Archives to view the source/s. Our contact information is in the right-hand box. We are open from 8 am to 4.30 pm on Mondays, Tuesdays and Fridays and 8 am to 6.30 pm on Wednesdays and Thursdays.
The sign for our room (W250) says "Archives/Area Research Center."
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections that might be pertinent to your research.
There are 2 recommended methods for searching in Search@UW.
1) Use the search box below which brings up results from the UWM Archives, the UWM Special Collections, and the Wisconsin Historical Society. Note that these results will include some books on the subject, but more of them will describe archival or manuscript collections.
Here are six examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords.
1. hunger milwaukee
2. stadium baseball
3. public school* (returns "school", "schools", "schooling")
4. Business Improvement
5. immigra* (Returns "immigrant", "immigrants", and "immigration")
6. milwaukee architec* (returns "architect", "architects", "architecture", "architectural")
2) In Search@UW main page, search by subject headings that have been predetermined by librarians.
First, select the Subject tab at the Search@UW page.
Enter a term in the "Subject" box. Keep the "Subject Words Anywhere" option for the "Search type" box - it usually works. If you don't like your results, try different word/s.
Explore the links into the catalog records. Any entries that show an icon of an box (for an archives box) will very likely be in our Archives, but read the "Holdings" information at the bottom of the catalog record carefully. (Most, but not all, links will be for material located in the Archives).
And, explore the subject headings which appear near to your first term, if they make sense for your research.
Watch our video about searching in and understanding finding aids at What is a finding aid and how does it help me?
Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.