English 215: Introduction to English Studies

Features the works of Harold Bloom, often noted as one of the world's most renowned literary critics. The collection incorporates several specialized series, including Bloom’s Classic Critical Views, Bloom's Guides, Bloom’s Literary Themes, Bloom’s Modern Critical Interpretation, Bloom’s Modern Critical Views, Bloom’s Shakespeare Through the Ages and Bloom’s How to Write About Literature.

The John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism contains major landmarks of criticism from classical antiquity to the present day, including entries by literary critics, philosophers, political theorists, anthropologists, psychologists, and psychiatrists.

Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.

Gale Literature Criticism brings together backfiles of several literary series from Gale: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains over 13 million biographical sketches. Current reference sources are indexed, as well as retrospective works that cover individuals from a number of fields and areas of the world. Sources include biographical dictionaries and "who's whos", subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and indices.