Search PantherCat
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which pertain to civil rights in Milwaukee. In the box below, search by keyword/s. This search box is already limited to the Archives Department's holdings. Note that these results will include some books that are available in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections.
Here are three examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords.
1. civil rights African Americans Milwaukee
2. African Americans Wisconsin
3. segregation
If your search doesn't produce relevant results, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
Watch an introductory video on conducting searches at Search for and locate materials at UWM Libraries' Archives.
Recommendations for Civil Rights Topics
In the Archives Dept., we have a significant amount of primary sources for your study of local civil rights. Topical strengths of our collections include the history of school de/segregation, the fair housing movement (especially the marches and disturbances of 1967) and community and civic response to these struggles.
A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.
- James Groppi PapersTitle: James Groppi Papers
Creator: Groppi, James, 1930-1985
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss EX
Abstract: Father Groppi's Papers are rich for community reaction to his civil rights activism but of limited use as a biographical resource. - Milwaukee Journal Stations Records (a.k.a. the WTMJ-TV News Film Archives)Title: Milwaukee Journal Stations Records
Creator: Milwaukee Journal Stations
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss 203
Abstract: Local news footage and special reports, dating from 1950 to 1980, capturing civil rights activities of the 1960's. - Records of the Henry W. Maier AdministrationTitle: Milwaukee (Wis.). Mayor: Records of the Henry W. Maier Administration
Creator: Maier, Henry W., 1918-
Call Number: Milwaukee Series 44; Tape 1235A
Abstract: The official records of the Maier administration. See subject files. - Milwaukee United School Integration Committee RecordsTitle: Milwaukee United School Integration Committee Records
Creator: Milwaukee United School Integration Committee
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss 5
Abstract: Records of an organization that worked to end school segregation. - The March on Milwaukee Civil Rights History ProjectVisit the digital collection which brings together a small selection of sources from the Archives, and presents them online.
Search Finding Aids
Watch our video about searching in and understanding finding aids at What is a finding aid and how does it help me?
About the Author |




Loading...
