Search PantherCat
Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which pertain to local African American history. In the box below, search by keyword/s. This search box is already limited to the Archives Department's holdings. Note that these results will include some books that are available here in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections.
Here are four examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords:
1. Blacks Milwaukee
2. African Americans Wisconsin
3. affirmative action
4. urban league
If your search doesn't produce relevant results, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
Recommended Collections on African Americans
In the Archives Dept., we have collections which are rich in primary sources for your research of local African American 20th century history. Topical strengths of our collections include political, civic, and cultural organizations; businesses; education and Milwaukee public school de/segregation; and the fair housing movement.
For civil rights activities of the 1960's, see the "African American Civil Rights movement" guide. For community organizations in historically black-populated neighborhoods, see the "Community Organizations" guide.
A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.
- NAACP - Milwaukee BranchTitle: National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Milwaukee Branch: Records
Creator: NAACP. Milwaukee Branch
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss EP
Abstract: Records reflecting particularly the work of Wilbur and Ardie Halyard. - Milwaukee Urban League RecordsTitle: Milwaukee Urban League Records
Creator: Milwaukee Urban League
Call number: Milwaukee Mss EZ
Abstract: Administrative files, primarily of Wesley L. Scott's tenure (1959-1981). - Oral histories on Milwaukee school reform activismTitle: More Than One Struggle Oral History Project Records
Creator: Dougherty, Jack
Call Number: UWM Mss 217
Abstract: Oral history interviews conducted by Jack Dougherty for his book: More Than One Struggle; The Evolution of Black School Reform. - Lloyd Barbee PapersTitle: Lloyd E. Barbee Papers
Creator: Barbee, Lloyd A., 1925-
Call number: Milw Mss 16
Abstract: Includes research material and legal records of the class action desegregation suit Amos, et al. vs. Board of School Directors of Milwaukee. - UWM Office of the Chancellor RecordsTitle: UW-Milwaukee Office of the Chancellor Records
Creator: UW-Milwaukee. Office of the Chancellor
Call Number: UWM AC 46
Abstract: Includes extensive records concerning relations with African American faculty, programs, and students. - The March on Milwaukee Civil Rights History ProjectVisit the digital collection which brings together a small selection of sources on the struggle for civil rights, and presents them online.
Search Finding Aids
Watch our video about searching in and understanding finding aids at What is a finding aid and how does it help me?
About the Author |




Loading...
