Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Research & Course Guides - Archives Department

About the Author

Profile Image
Archives Department
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info:
UWM Libraries
Archives
Room W250
414-229-5402

Guides

African American Civil Rights movement - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on the local black civil rights movement. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.
Tags: african_american, civil_rights_movement, history, local_history, uwm, uwm_archives
African Americans - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Jun 23, 2011
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of African Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Tags: african_american, history, local_history, uwm, uwm_archives
African-American Student Activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1968-1978
by Archives Department - Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
This guide provides information about grassroots activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee that culminated in the establishment of the Center for Afro-American Studies in 1969, one of the first two Afro-American Studies programs in the U.S.
Tags: african_american, africanamerican, africology, uwm_archives, uwm_history
Community Organizations - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides recommendations for using the Archives Department to study local community organizations and activism. We recommend search paths, search tools, and collections to start your research.
Tags: civic_improvement, community_activism, local_history, uwm, uwm_archives
Course Syllabi in the UWM Archives - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
A listing of course syllabi available in the UWM Archives, as well as links to other sites where syllabi are available.
Tags: curriculum, uwm, uwm_archives
Current and Historical Newspapers and Other News Sources
by Archives Department, Media Library - Last Updated Dec 6, 2010
Guide to finding current and historical news in print, electronically, and microftext in the UW-Milwaukee Libraries.
Tags: media, news
Faculty and Staff Guide to the UWM Libraries
by Archives Department, Janet Padway - Last Updated Feb 4, 2014
Learn about the collections, services, and library staff that can enrich your teaching and research experiences.
Football at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
History of the football program at UWM and its predecessor institutions, including game photographs and programs.
Tags: athletics, football, milwaukee, uwm_archives, uwm_history
German-Americans - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of German-Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Tags: german_americans, history, socialism, uwm, uwm_archives
History 150: Multicultural America
by Archives Department - Last Updated Oct 2, 2013
This guide is for students in History 150. It gives general information about the Archives, explains how to locate archival material at UWM, and provides examples of types of primary sources.
Tags: archives, hist150, history
History 293: Seminar on Historical Methods
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide is for students in History 293. It gives general information about the Archives, explains how to locate archival material at UWM, and provides examples of types of primary sources.
Tags: course_guide, history, local_history, primary_sources, uwm, uwm_archives
History 293: Seminar on Historical Methods
by Archives Department - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
Resources for using the archives in conjunction with the Hernandez-led History 293 course, Spring 2014
History 436: Immigrant America Since 1880 (Midwestern Migrations)
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide is for students in History 436. It gives specific information on using the Archives Dept. for your class assignment, and gives general information on the Archives.
Tags: course_guide, history, immigration_history, local_history, uwm, uwm_archives
Jewish Americans - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the history of Jewish people in the greater Milwaukee area. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Tags: history, jewish_americans, jewish_studies, judaism, local_history, uwm, uwm_archives
Latinas/Latinos - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of Latinas/Latinos. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Tags: history, latino_studies, local_history, uwm, uwm_archives
Latino Activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1969-1970 - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
History of activism conducted by Latino students and community members in 1969 and 1970, ultimately leading to the creation of the Roberto Hernandez Center. Includes a timeline of important events, images, and a bibliography of additional sources.
Tags: history, latin_america, latino_studies, milwaukee, uwm_archives, uwm_history
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department and Special Collections to study local LGBT history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Tags: history, lgbt_studies, local_history, uwm, uwm_archives
Mascots at UWM: Gulls, Cardinals, and Panthers, Oh My! - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
Photos, Drawings, and History of the various UWM Mascots.
Tags: athletics, history, mascot, panther, uwm_archives, uwm_history, victor_e_panther
Media History - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study local media history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Tags: communication, history, media_history, uwm, uwm_archives
Men's Basketball at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
A brief history of men's basketball at UWM, from its beginnings at Milwaukee State Teacher's College to the present day.
Tags: athletes, athletics, basketball, uwm, uwm_archives, uwm_history
Native Americans - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on local Native American history. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching
Tags: american_indians, history, native_americans, uwm, uwm_archives
Photographs - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives to locate and study photographs as source material, or as they inform on local history research. We recommend search paths, search tools, and collections with photographs.
Tags: local_history, photographs_as_primary_sources, primary_sources, uwm, uwm_archives
Polish-Americans - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of Polish-Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Tags: history, local_history, photographs_as_primary_sources, polish_americans, uwm, uwm_archives
Transportation - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides recommendations for using the Archives to study local surface transportation history. It also suggests the best search paths for effectively locating material.
Tags: history, local_history, transportation, urban_studies, uwm, uwm_archives
UW-Milwaukee's Predecessor Institutions.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Jan 17, 2012
Explains the UWM's predecessor institutions, and explains our relationship to Milwaukee-Downer College. Offers further resources and research suggestions.
Tags: history, uwm_archives, uwm_history
Vietnam War Protests at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
Overview of protests and rallies held at UWM against the Vietnam conflict during the 1960s and 1970s. Includes photographs and references.
Tags: history, uwm_archives, uwm_history, vietnam, war
Women - Archives Dept.
by Archives Department - Last Updated Jul 20, 2010
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on local women's history. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.
Tags: local_history, uwm, uwm_archives, women, women's_history
Women's Studies 200/201
by Archives Department, Lee Wagner - Last Updated Mar 28, 2014
Highlighting the resources available for Women's Studies students in the Archives, Special Collections and Media Library.
Tags: archives, women, women's studies, women's_history
 

Introductory Videos

Survey
 
 
Description

  Loading...