Skip to main content

Library Resources for Teaching Assistants [CETL Orientation]: UWM Libraries'
Fast Facts
 

A guide to library resources for new teaching assistants

UWM Libraries' Fast Facts & Walking Tour

The information on this page represents tip-of-the-iceberg fast facts about the UWM Libraries' resources and services. Be sure to explore all of the TABs on this Library Guide to discover how UWM librarians can help you and your students succeed. You can also request a WALKING TOUR of the Library!

 

Get To Know The UWM Library

The UWM Libraries is contained within the Golda Meir Library building, directly north of the Student Union.

Building Information & Floorplans

Hours for Service Points & CollectionsDifferent areas and service points within the Golda Meir Library Building are open different hours. The Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons, on the first floor west wing, is open 24 hours, Sunday through Thursday during the Fall and Spring semesters, with reduced hours on Friday and Saturday.

Tours & Workshops at the LibraryThe UWM Libraries offers a variety of walk-in sessions for various research tools. Take advantage of the workshops offered, for groups of 1 to 100.

Instructions for Printing Documents: In Summer 2017, UITS installed a new pay-for-print system, Wēpa Print Away, in the Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons on the first floor, west wing of the UWM Libraries.

Graduate Students' Guide to the UWM LibrariesA broad guide detailing library resources and services for graduate and doctoral students.

The Scriptorium for UWM-Enrolled Dissertators

Connect with the UWM Libraries

1)  Meet your library specialist(s).  Every UWM academic department has a designated Library Contact and also a Department Liaison. The Library Contact is a Library staff member who can serve as your first point of contact for library information. The Departmental Liaison is a faculty or staff member in your department who communicates with the Libraries, often on collection requests. Schedule a Research Consultation with the research librarian in your discipline.

2) Determine if there is a detailed Library Guide for your department and/or course. Contact the guide's author with questions and suggestions.

3) Are your students going to be writing research papers? Request a Course Integrated Library Instruction Session to be held in a library classroom or schedule a librarian to visit your class.

4)  Explore the rich resources and specialized services offered in our American Geographical Society LibraryMusic Library, Curriculum Collection, ArchivesSpecial Collections and Media & Reserve Library. Contact Data Services for training and data management plan consultations. Contact Online and Distance Education Services for assistance with online, distance ed and FLEX option courses.

5) Check out our Digital Humanities LabA collaborative space to share technical skills, gain access to appropriate equipment and software and to discover interdisciplinary opportunities for researchers at all levels of expertise and interest in the field, through workshops, speaker seris and informal get-togethers.

6) Keep up with the UWM Libraries' News & Events and visit us on Facebook, InstagramTwitter and YouTube.

Databases & Guides by Subject

Just for Fun!

Get Help in the Library

Search@UW

Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW-System and UW-Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, academic literature and journal articles. Sign in using your ePantherID to easily request items from other campuses, check the status of items you have on loan and more. The Search@UW Library Guide includes user instructions, online video demonstrations and troubleshooting tips.