Skip to main content

Africology 314: School in African American Life

This guide will assist you with the archives research assignment for Africology 314

How to Use This Guide

Welcome! This guide was made specifically to support the research needs of Africology 314 students using the UWM Archives. Each of the tabs on the left will take you to a page that contains resources and tools to help you plan and succeed in your Archives Project research. 
 

Table of Contents:
Welcome to the Archives- (the page you're on) 
This page everything you need to prepare for a visit to the Archives. It also has a link to an Archivist who can help you with your research.

Explore the History- This page contains historical information about African American involvement in schooling in 20th Century Milwaukee. 

What are Primary Sources?- Use this page to learn how to identify, analyze, and use primary sources in your research

Find Sources for Your Assignment-This page contains search tools and tips to help you pick-out collections of primary sources to work with in the Archives as well as links to the March on Milwaukee Digital Collection. 

Welcome to the UWM Archives

We are located on the second floor of the Golda Meir Library in Room W250; to get here, take the main stairs up to the second floor, go through the first set of double doors on your right, and we will be right there.

Hours: 8:00 – 4:30 Mon – Fri and 8:00 – 6:30 Wed & Thurs when classes are in session.Photo of Archives Enterance

Map of library floor plan